top of page
Search

Catchin' Up while Movin' On

It's February 1st and time to catch everyone up on our travels.


We left Florida and headed west on January 7th. Plans were, and continue to be, very flexible and fluid depending entirely on how I feel so the trip across the south ended up going pretty quickly as I felt the pull of the west. I wouldn't be completely honest if I didn't say that the inauguration also pushed me to be out and away from cities before in case it all blew up. (which I was sure it would and I am happy that I was wrong... at least for now)


The first stop was an overnight at a Harvest Host in Southport, FL called Southern Grace Lavender Farm . While it was off season for the lavender it was still a pretty setting and I purchased some lovely lavender soap and shampoo. They have a small working farm with chickens (fresh eggs!), a pig named Priscilla (Prissy for short) and their protector Cotton. Would love to stop by there when the lavender is in bloom!



The next day we hit the road and drove to Mobile, AL to stay at another Harvest Host, Serda Brewing Co. for some craft beer. They have electric hook up for $10 (worth it!) and great beer with high alcohol content. I mention this because I had quite the buzz when I left there! Fortunately I only had to stumble out to the parking lot. LOL Seriously, they have a great set up for RV's and if they had additional days available I would have stayed and checked out Mobile a little longer.

I met a couple who were also staying through Harvest Host and we had a good time chatting and drinking while maintaining social distancing. They had been traveling for the last couple of years and were on the last part of their journey while I am just getting started so it was great to hear their stories.


After Mobile we kept on the road and stayed at truck stops, Cracker Barrel and Walmart parking lots only long enough to sleep. Plans to spend time in New Orleans and Austin were changed due to Covid concerns and the urge to be west so we just drove until we made it to New Mexico. More about that in the next installment.


Update on my travel companions:

Albert has finally adapted to moving trailer and can now sleep in the bed while we're on the road and Dragon rides shotgun in his crate. I was (and still am) too nervous to let him ride in the tank (glass!) even though it has held up great so far.


I'm making changes as we go to help it be more comfortable for all of us while also getting us to the point we can be off grid for extended amounts of time. It's a learning process for me and test of patience for them. But we hope to be much closer before we head to Arizona.


Well that catches you up to New Mexico. Next blog will be about what we've accomplished here and where we go next.


Until next time, we're just Movin' On.




102 views0 comments
bottom of page