top of page
Search

Fall Equinox: Reflection, Balance and Change


Today is the fall equinox. A day that marks the official transition from summer to autumn here in the Northern Hemisphere. It's a reminder of the cyclical nature of Earth's seasons, a signal of the start of cooler temperatures and the approach of winter. It's also a day associated with the balance of dark and light because there is nearly equal duration of daylight and nighttime hours. This balance of light and darkness is thought to be symbolic of equilibrium and harmony, and it's often associated with personal balance and reflection...a time of setting intentions. To reflect on past lessons, review your current achievements and failures, and assess your goals for the coming months. It represents a time of transition, balance, and gratitude. It's a reminder of the interconnectedness between humans and nature and an opportunity to celebrate the beauty and richness of the Earth's cycles.


The longer I live out here the more in tune I am with the cycles of the days and seasons. I feel the seasons begin to change, the days lengthen and shorten, and the rising and lowering of the sun's path as it moves across the sky from season to season. A constant observer of desert life and its cycles. It's all a cycle, a circle, a spiral...spinning beginning to end over and over and over.


I have been reflecting the last few days on all that's happened in my life over the last few years. All the things that led me to where I am today. I no longer believe that "everything happens for a reason". Life is chaos and chance and luck. Some good, some bad, some wonderful, some devastating. I can't say that I'm glad the devastating happened. But I can say that I would never go back to the "before". I've kept the few things that were important to me from the past... handmade quilts from Granny Thelma, ashes of beloved pets, a pillow from my mom, a necklace that was my dad's, wonderful and amazing friends that I cherish... and I discarded the rest. Well, most of "the rest"..... (I'm still working on a final few things internally) and began a new journey that led me to reconnect with old friends and lost family, to rekindle my passion for the desert, (and the opportunity to live in it!) to meet and connect with new friends, and the opportunity to live a simpler life. Do not read that as easy...just simpler.


I've spent the day going through photos and seeing the changes, the growth, the coming alive of MME. From a blank desert landscape to a land producing food and allowing critters of many different species to live on it. I've also been creating a new hosting site for the blog as we will be moving to a new virtual location. Due to the increasing costs of the previous platform, I needed to simplify and change over to a new platform. I just don't need all the bells and whistles of this platform. I apologize for any inconvenience this may cause a few of you, but for some of you, this is an opportunity to "unsubscribe" quietly and slip out the back door. 😉



Should you want to continue following me on my journey, here's the new link. https://masonmartiniestate.wordpress.com/2023/09/23/you-made-it/

You will notice a few changes that reflect the metamorphosis of the journey. Hope to see you on the other side.


Until then, keep Movin' On.




73 views
bottom of page